top of page

I'm Ok Being A Chicken...


I was quite excited, I was a young teenager headed to a movie downtown and it was my first time going with a friend- versus going with family!!! EEEK! When she called up she said the movie was called The Messengers, the movie was at 7:30pm, and she’d pick me up! The Messengers, it sounded like a good movie! As a 13 year old girl, I was giddy with anticipation! Well, the time came and my ride arrived, I said goodbye to the family and off I went! As we sat down in the theater seating, I tossed a few kernels of popcorn around and waited for the movie to start. Well, the movie started, and the movie I had imagined- you know, messengers like Angels, was NOTHING like I had imagined.


The Messengers, turns out was a ‘scary movie,’ PG-13 and WAAAAY out of my comfort zone! When the scary sequence of events creeped across the screen, I stared at the theater ‘hall’ lights- the dim ones that lined the stairs and literally sat there singing Primary songs in my head until the movie was over. I do not do scary movies. In case you didn’t catch that, I don’t do scary movies. I got into the car, constantly checking over my shoulder, and while the rest of the car talked about how the movie wasn’t scary enough, I sat there hoping I wasn’t asked about how I felt. Terrified. That’s what I was!


When I got home, I checked in and with haste headed straight to my bedroom. I turned every light on that I could find in that room. I’m sure I slept with every light on. For the next few weeks I was quite nervous to be wandering the house at night. If I had to go to the bathroom, I held it, if I needed a drink, I got over it. I was so freaked out that one of the ‘messengers’ was going to make an appearance in my life. From that day on, I unofficially declared a ‘No Scary Movies For Mikenna’ rule. To date, I’ve not watched another scary movie. Now let’s be clear, Craig asked me about my thoughts on Scooby Doo, yeah I’ve never seen it- Again, I don’t like scary movies... My scary movie list consists of The Birds- which I did not like and totally freaked me out...again... The Ghost of Mr. Chicken, Private Eyes, Ernest Scared Stupid, Arachnophobia- my mom’s family watched that and pretty sure it gave me a fear of spiders early on in my young life, and last but not least, Nightmare Before Christmas. Yeah, I’m quite adventurous. By the way, just because I‘ve seen these, does not mean I like any of them!


Now you know, I have fears, lots of them in-fact, but scary movies are something I can avoid with prejudice quite easily! I also have a fear spiders, although I’m getting better at killing them, I do not like clowns, and I absolutely LOATHE snakes. I just can’t. I can’t think about them, I can’t handle snakes. Lucky for me, I moved to Grace which seems to be a hub for rattlesnakes- well at least the outer edges of Grace are. Some fears I have are deeper than others, some aren’t even listed! For heaven’s sake, some are irrational! Why am I scared of spiders but my hubby doesn’t blink an eye? So here’s a question, what creates those fears in us? What are your fears? Happy Halloween weekend!


-Mikenna


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page