top of page

Grandma Barbara

Updated: Apr 9, 2019


Barbara Joan LeBaron Robins quite the woman. Grandma Robins- or Grandma Barbara-as we knew her - is an example. An example of a true follower of Christ. She really is a spiritual giant; she has put all her faith, her hope and time into becoming closer to him. Her testimony is unlike most others in this world. If everyone had a testimony like her, this world would be a VERY different place.

She’s not the one who craves to be the center of attention, a matter of fact, she’s the complete opposite. Grandma is the one behind the scenes, busy doing what she can for other people but never expecting or boasting about her quiet acts of service. I admire that about her.

I think one of my earliest memories of my Grandma is going to visit her when she was a teacher at Mount Fort Jr. High in Ogden. Not an easy place to be, and not an easy place to teach, but she gave it her all. I enjoyed going to visit her, walking down the hallways of the Jr. High I felt so small, yet so mature to be there- I was an elementary student in a Jr. High… She would always greet us with a big smile, and a hug. She still does this when we see her! I love a good Grandma Barbara hug. It’s funny because that is one thing I always knew, my Grandma Barbara loves me. In her own quiet way, she lets you feel of the love she has for others.

When I think of Grandma the first word that comes to mind is INDEPENDENT. Even that word doesn’t quite do her justice! After a rough divorce, Grandma had a house full of children to care for, and little money to live on. But that didn’t stop her. She is extremely well-educated, intelligent and as I mentioned before, a faithful servant of the Lord. Instead of complaining about something, she found a way to take care of it herself. I still laugh when I think of her fixing, and putting in a new electrical line in her home, or framing in a new area. Or how about her remodeling bathrooms… She doesn’t ask for help, because she will read study and figure out how to do it.

Another sweet memory for me was irrigation day. Grandma has a nice big yard just waiting to be explored. Quakies (Quaking Aspen) lined the perimeter, and a variety of other trees were scattered throughout but other than that, grass. Oh, baby, there was SO much grass! In my mind, soccer fields had nothing on Grandma’s yard. I laughed one day when my uncle Rob mowed circles all around the yard just like a golf course… ANYWAY, in the valley you had one day a week you would have irrigation turns. I loved heading over to Grandma’s house and seeing the yard flooded with 1-3 inches of water. We would run, splash, and gather worms. I can’t tell you how much joy it filled my little body to be out in that water! You’d think we were at Disneyland… Nowadays Grandma has an unlimited supply of splashing water- a swimming pool. Mercedes refers to her as ‘Our pool Grandma.’

One thing I love about Grandma Barbara is her party spirit. When she plans for a party, she PLANS A PARTY. Every year it’s like clockwork, and Easter egg hunt, and a Halloween party, but are filled with games, food and another memory made. If you could see what our Thanksgiving & Christmas dinners looked like, you would think you walked into a fancy restaurant. Beautiful layered plates sitting atop fancy chargers, fabric napkins, goblets & water glasses at each place setting. Tables decorated to the nines, and we almost always have Grandma's favorite like quadruple Chocolate Costco cake. It's heaven. I remember the first time Craig came to a Robins Thanksgiving dinner, his jaw dropped and I don't think he knew which plate or fork he was supposed to use first... Grandma's parties, are a big deal. There is no such thing as 'half done' in her presence. I now realize who my mom inherited that trait from...


As a kid one of my favorite vacations was the night before the 4th of July. My aunts & uncles with their families would sleep overnight in Grandma's backyard. In the morning we would have a fantastic breakfast and then get dressed for the parade. Old Eden held a small parade- I mean small like 5 minutes tops complete with a firetruck, a bunch of four-wheeler's and a millions kids on decked out bikes trailing behind riding around like a bunch of drunk drivers. Anyway, we loved the parade, mom would dress us up like little baby robins, and then one of my aunts or uncles would drive the lawnmower with a trailer attached to the back for us to ride around in. We loved it. The 'Robin's Nest' as we were called. I'm not sure why I got such a big kick out of it, but it really is a fun memory. That night we would watch the fireworks and of course set off a thousand of our own. I loved having all the family together. Then when Balloon fest time came around each year, a similar party would take place, I loved being able to walk down to Eden Park and see all the colorful balloons, booths lining the park and the excitement that filled the air. I'm amazed at how precious these memories are, and yet they are such simple moments. Grandma if you're reading this, thank you for the memories you helped create in my childhood. I didn't realize they meant this much to me until they started pouring back into my memory. Family has always been the priority.








*Did you notice Grandma is wearing yellow when she holds baby Mikenna in the 1st picture, and then in the last group she is wearing yellow as she hold brand new baby Mercedes... AH! Cute! You will always find her wearing happy colors!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page