top of page

THE COLLINS FAMILY

Updated: May 10, 2019


One of my favorite parts of being a Family/Wedding portrait photographer is:


#1- I get to spend time with families outside of the ’norm.’ For example, with the Collins family, I usually interact with them on Sunday’s in a place of worship. Outside of that interaction, I haven’t had the opportunity to spend time with them. So long story short, I love being able to spend time with families on a more personal level!


#2- I love watching family dynamics. I love to see which brother is the joker of the family or which sister is the shy, quiet no drama kind of girl. I love watching the dad who has a hard time being serious until his wife gives him the stink-eye... I love watching that mom & son relationship shine through filled with love and security. You may think that I wouldn’t have time to observe the variety of dynamics within a family, but you’d be surprised how much I can see in 30-60 minutes! I love it!


#3- I love the joy. I know it seems funny but there are so many things that bring joy during a session, the family themselves, their relationships, the background/surroundings, but then that transfers to the image delivery time! I always hope and pray the images turn out the way a family has imagined but I never know unless they tell me! Unfortunately I can’t read minds....But I feel the most joy when I get that text or email saying they are excited, they love their album and life is good. That is when I finally relax and the excitement comes in!


The Collins family was amazing! I loved the laughter and smiles that followed when Cassie and Dennis cracked a joke with their teenagers - that is when the biggest smiles were seen! I loved watching Cassie and her fear-less self sit on the end of a bridge with no hesitation while I sat wondering if I should increase my life-insurance policy... Every time a vehicle, including the smallest- a motorcycle to the biggest- a massive tractor went by, you would stand there and feel the metal below your feet shake, remind me not to stand there during an earthquake...

Needless to say, they were a fun family to be with! I am grateful Cassie would ask to meet up! Thank you to a spectacular family, and Jordan, good luck on the next 2 years!












20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page